Why I’m choosing to study mass communication

Science is vast. Knowledge is vast. Once you start studying those elaborate concepts of the subjects in great detail, you realize just how much there is to fathom about nature and of the living world. Biology, physics and chemistry have taught me that there is more than meets the eye, that there is a fantastic world that lies beyond our mundane tasks of daily life.

However, it is one thing to read of such things purely out of curiosity and interest, and another to study them as preparation for an examination where you are competing with 20, 30 or even hundreds of other people trying to achieve the same goal as you.  That is when, I start to realize how a competitive nature is getting the better of my thoughts, stopping that childish, innocent and simple curiosity that was hitherto present. When that competition starts, you just tend to figure out a way to keep having an upper hand above other people, and not let things “just be the way they are”, thus destroying the peace of mind. Atleast, that has what has been true of me for quite some time.

I keep thinking often, actually most of the time, that is that what i am trying to achieve here? Just prove that i’m better than everybody else?

Or is it that I let things be the way that they are, suppress that competitiveness within me and move in a direction of calmness, beauty and spiritual well-being?

Yes, I understand that when it comes down to reality and living life in society, it is all about earning my daily bread and proving myself worthy of doing so, but there are umpteen ways of achieving that. I need not stick to one particular course of action all the the time, because life in general has to offer much more than that. In all my 21 years of life, I have learnt that you can never really predict what could be coming for you in the next moment, and hence all you can really do is live in the now. And if that means pursuing something that your heart is telling you to pursue, then so be it.

Moreover, when you believe in yourself and know that you can achieve something, it does happen if you just have the patience and perseverence to wait for the results. It’s true and I have seen it happen.

Thus, trying out a new field of study is rousing my interest and hope to achieve what I desire, or atleast taking me a step closer to it..

Mass communication and journalism will further allow me to understand and think more about the nature, behaviour and thoughts of people of the world, something which I was hitherto not able to focus upon because of the large amount of theoretical matter that I was having to study. I just feel that I need to further myself in the former direction, because it will make me happier and calmer. How can I not think and contemplate on the thoughts, feelings and actions of other people, those living around me?

So, it is quite justified that I move forward in this particular direction that I am speaking about..

Leave a Reply

