Heart

Above all, to my heart i’m true

It does not tell me what to do

It beats, I live, it beats again..

For what? I wish I knew it knew.

-Vikram Seth.

These are the four concluding lines of a poem called ‘Heart’ that I recently set my eyes upon from the book of poems called “All You Who Sleep Tonight” by the author. I increasingly find myself becoming an ardent fan of his, his writing is lucid yet conveys so much in short verses. I can’t wait to get my hands on “Beastly Tales from Here and There” which will give me a short insight into the humourous aspect of his writing. All in all, Vikram Seth is surely one of those Indians-writing-in-English authors whom I have come to thoroughly savour reading.

Leave a Reply

